antwerp_horiz

Prof. Dr. Ivan Janssens (Antwerp University) :

Prof. Dr. Ivan Janssens (Antwerp University)

ivan.janssens@uantwerpen.be

Biogeochemistry.

Joke Van den Berge : Research Manager

Joke Van den Berge

joke.vandenberge@uantwerpen.be

Research Manager

I coordinate and support the field studies and researchers in French-Guyana.

Dr. Balzarolo Manuela : Research fellow

Dr. Balzarolo Manuela

Manuela.Balzarolo@uantwerpen.be

Research fellow

Expert in remote sensing, ecological modelling, ecosystem carbon and water dymanics

Dr. Sebastian Wieneke : Postdoc researcher

Dr. Sebastian Wieneke

Sebastian.Wieneke@uantwerpen.be

Postdoc researcher

In my studies I focus on developing new methods to assess the photosynthetic energy balance by using remotely sensed sun-induced chlorophyll fluorescence and gas-exchange measurements.

Dr. Marcos Fernández-Martínez : Postdoc researcher

Dr. Marcos Fernández-Martínez

marcos.fernandez-martinez@uantwerpen.be

Postdoc researcher

Junior coordinator of the IMBALANCE-P

My main contribution to the IMBALANCE-P project is to gather, ensemble and analyse different ecological databases with the aim of studying the effect of nutrient availability, biodiversity and climate on forest features, productivity and carbon balance from a macroecological perspective.

Lucia Fuchslueger : Postdoc researcher

Lucia Fuchslueger

lucia.fuchslueger@uantwerpen.be

Postdoc researcher

I will study microbe mediated soil nutrient cycling in tropical and arctic ecosystems.

Dr. Yongshuo Fu : Former collaborator

Dr. Yongshuo Fu

Former collaborator

Dr. Marta Camino (CREAF-CSIC) : Postdoc researcher

Dr. Marta Camino (CREAF-CSIC)

m.camino@creaf.uab.cat

Postdoc researcher

My work focuses on improving the representation of soil C dynamics in the soil module of the land surface model ORCHIDEE. More specifically, I am implementing and validating a new representation of the leaching of dissolved organic carbon (DOC) from soil into rivers and of  13C in soil.

Former collaborator at the University of Antwerp

Dr. Matteo Campioli (Antwerp University) :

Dr. Matteo Campioli (Antwerp University)

matteo.campioli@uantwerpen.be

Plant growth, net primary production and ecosystem C allocation.

Dr. Elodie Courtois (Antwerp University) :

Dr. Elodie Courtois (Antwerp University)

courtoiselodie@gmail.com

Chemical ecology.

Niki Leblans (Antwerp University) :

Niki Leblans (Antwerp University)

Niki.leblans@uantwerpen.be

PhD student working in Iceland. My research focuses on warming impact on grassland ecosystem functioning, plant phenology response to warming and stoichiometry changes in plants along temperature gradients.

Dr. Guille Peguero (CREAF-CSIC) :

Dr. Guille Peguero (CREAF-CSIC)

guille.peguero@creaf.uab.cat

Within IMBALANCE-P I’m going to study the bottom-up effects of nutrient imbalances at local and regional scales on the composition and phylogenetic structure of soil mesofaunal communities.

I’d like to take advantage of recently developed metabarcoding techniques to uncover cryptic diversity and to infer potential mechanisms of community assemblage in poorly known taxonomic groups such as springtails and mites.

Dr. Jennifer Soong (Antwerp University) :

Dr. Jennifer Soong (Antwerp University)

Jennifer.soong@uantwerpen.be

Soil organic matter formation and decomposition, plant-soil-atmosphere carbon transfer, and soil C-N-P relationships.

Dr. Clément Stahl (Antwerp University) :

Dr. Clément Stahl (Antwerp University)

Clement.Stahl@ecofog.gf

Responsible for the ecosystem and ecosystem ghg flux measurements at the sites.

Leandro Van Langenhove  (Antwerp University) :

Leandro Van Langenhove (Antwerp University)

leandro.vanlangenhove@uantwerpen.be

N2 fixation in Guiana.

Dr. Erik Verbruggen (Antwerp University) :

Dr. Erik Verbruggen (Antwerp University)

erikverb82@hotmail.com

Mycorrhizal diversity and functioning.

Lore Verryckt (Antwerp University) :

Lore Verryckt (Antwerp University)

lore.verryckt@student.uantwerpen.be

I will measure leaf level gas exchange and simulate plot level photosynthesis to study aboveground respiration and tree carbon allocation.

Dr. Sara Vicca (Antwerp University) :

Dr. Sara Vicca (Antwerp University)

sara.vicca@uantwerpen.be

Carbon allocation research in French Guyana.

Dr. James Weedon (Antwerp University) : Former collaborator

Dr. James Weedon (Antwerp University)

james.weedon@uantwerpen.be

Former collaborator

I will conduct research into the effects of variation in nutrient status, climate and microsite characteristics on soil microbial communities and the functions they perform.

Kevin Van Sundert : PhD student

Kevin Van Sundert

kevin.vansundert@student.uantwerpen.be

PhD student

My PhD project is called ‘Elucidating the role of nutrient availability and mycorrhizae in the drought response of terrestrial ecosystem carbon cycling’. It includes field work at drought experiments in Austria and Germany and a meta-analysis. 

Nele Smeyers : Master student

Nele Smeyers

Master student

Kris Meus : Master student

Kris Meus

Master student

Anaïs Hannouz : Master student

Anaïs Hannouz

Master student

Bart De Roeck : Master student

Bart De Roeck

Master student

Wouter Knaepen : Master student

Wouter Knaepen

Master student

Steven Dauwe (Antwerp University) : Former collaborator

Steven Dauwe (Antwerp University)

Steven.dauwe@uantwerpen.be

Former collaborator

N-addition experiment in Iceland. Interactive effects of temperature and N addition on ecosystem functioning.